Therapy: The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

Brittany Luckham
8 min readApr 11, 2024

I’ve always struggled with conveying my emotions and putting words to my experiences. Especially so in therapy. I’ve been in and out of therapy since I was 13 years old. Here’s a bit about my experience as a previously undiagnosed Autistic person.

Not a member? Read with the Friend Link.

Person in a white shirt with their hands crossed.
Photo by Tiana

To understand my experience we have to go all the way to the beginning.

Ahhh, Teenagehood

When I was 13 years old, just a few months before I would start high school, my mother passed away from breast cancer. This wasn’t sudden by any means, but it was traumatic nevertheless.

The awkwardness each conversation carried over those next few months was palpable. I didn’t know how to act, what to say, and it seemed no one else did either. By October of my first year I started grief counseling. I was there to talk about my mom and try to process what I’d been through.

But here’s the thing, my mother’s death wasn’t unexpected, I prepared myself as best I could for it–it was the after that I didn’t know how to handle. It was everything that happened after that I couldn’t anticipate.

So, I ended up talking more about what was currently happening in my life instead of dealing with my grief. In many ways I had accepted it fairly quickly…

--

--