A Reading Log Collection for Your Journal

Brittany Luckham
2 min readNov 2, 2023

Like many I’ve gone through periods of my life where I read one book after another or I don’t read anything for three months straight. Since I’m always looking for ways to incorporate my journal practice into my life as it helps me set and complete goals, I decided to add a reading log.

Not a member? Read with the friend link.

This is a simple spread that’s easy to set up. All I do is write the title, the day I created the collection (though I’m slowly moving this out), and I leave a place to mark when I started and finished the book.

Then after, or sometimes during, a reading session I’ll make notes in the journal. I’ve done this in the past, but with sticky notes. It’s my way of annotating a book. However, recently, my sister has also wanted to read the same books and I leave way too many personal notes to just pass it over to her without any second thoughts. Thus: journal notes.

I’ve used this spread for the last three books I’ve read and I absolutely love it. I enjoy recording my reactions and feelings towards a book. It also helps when I go to write a book review as I have at least a page, if not more, of notes to refer back to.

Would you use this spread in your journal? Or do you have another system you use, if you use one at all?

--

--

Brittany Luckham

Brittany, owner of NOTOLUX, writes about books, Autism, and life in general. https://linktr.ee/NOTOLUX